In 1985 at Bangalore, during the presidency of Dr. J.S. Gujral, it was unanimously decide to hold the annual scientific meeting of the thoracic and cardiovascular surgeons independently in the month of February every year. In pursuance of this decision the first independent Annual Conference of ATCVSI was held at Madras in February, 1988. Encouraged and almost astounded by the tremendous success of this conference, steps were taken towards forming a new autonomous society. A committee consisting of Dr. P. Shatapathy as Chairman and Dr. P. Venugopal and Late Dr. P.S. Narayanan as Members prepared the drafts of the Memorandum of the Association, the Rules and Regulations(Constitution) and the By-laws for the proposed new society. These were adopted at Pune in 1990 and finally, the Indian Association of Cardiovascular-thoracic Surgeons (I.A.C.T.S.) with Dr. K.R. Shetty as the protem President was registered at Bombay under the Societies Act, 1860 and Bombay Public Trust Act, 1950.

The same year, on 15.6.1991, the ATCVSI was dissolved, through the unanimous resolution passed by it General Body during it annual meeting held at Bombay, and it entire membership, fund and assets were transferred to the new society, the IACTS. Soon thereafter, elections through secret ballot were conducted for the first time and the first Executive Committee of the IACTS with Dr. Sharad Panday as President and Dr. P. Shatapathy as the Secretary took charge. The following year the Fellowship of the Association (F.I.A.C.S) was instituted and regular biannual publication of the Journal(IJTCVS) commenced.

Since then it has been a tale of unprecedented growth and unparalleled development, underscoring the adage.

Our belief at the beginning of a doubtful undertaking is the one
Thing that insures the successful outcome of our venture.


Click here to visit website :

Executive Committee

Dr. Yugal Kishore Mishra


Dr. Rajan Sethuratnam


Dr. Shiv Kumar Nair

Senior Vice President

Dr. Bashi V Velayudhan

Junior Vice President

Dr. Zainulabedin Hamdulay

Joint Secretary & Treasurer

Dr. Yadava O.P


Dr. Jayakumar Karunakaran

Senior Past President

Prof. Dr. Anand Sancheti

Junior Past President

Dr. C.S. Hiremath


Prof. Dr. Gauranga Majumdar


Dr. Chandrasekar P.


Dr. Manoj Durairaj


Dr. Sundar Ramanathan